Магазин монет
Каталог монет

Language Russian English Deutsch (German)

Indonesia Coins

In the XVII century began the colonization of Indonesia by the Netherlands, so the appeal here was Dutch money. In 1945 Indonesia declared its independence. However, the Netherlands did not want to grant freedom to its former colony and sent troops there. Until 1949 the country was a civil war. In the end, with the help of the UN, the Indonesians were able to achieve sovereignty. The official currency of the Republic of Indonesia became a rupee equal to 100 senam. For the first time the national currency was introduced in 1945, however, during the war of independence of the state on a par with the rupee in circulation was the Dutch Gulden and rupee Japanese occupation government (1942-1945). The first series of Indonesian coins were issued in the period from 1945 to 1965, with the state coat of arms on the obverse (except for coins of small denominations), an indication of the denomination on the reverse, and the legend in English: 'Indonesia' as the obverse and the reverse. In 1965, in connection with the inflation, all coins were withdrawn from circulation. The next series of coins appeared only in 1970-1971, a New chart was decorated with pictures of birds (1, 25 and 50 rupees), animals (2000 rupees), as well as stylized drawings devoted to agriculture (RS 100), the family planning programme (rs10) and national saving (5 rupees). In the 1990s, released a new series of coins of denomination of 25, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 rupees with the traditional image of the mythological bird Garuda, on whose breast a shield with the five fields (obverse), and various graphic images (reverse).

Display: List / Grid
Rambler's Top100 Рейтинг@Mail.ru